KLS Social media
logo--kls--gradient-1
High performance
Heating Solutions
Phone
+49 (0) 89 379 523 06
e-mail
info@kls.de

KLS
The company

From hobby room to global player...

The year was 1988, and Klaus Leonhardt, who later became the founder of the company, rolled out of the pit lane of the Misano racetrack in his legendary Bimota YB4. Just at this moment, another Bimota rider sweeps across the start and finish line, with whom he had wanted to do a few laps all weekend.
So nothing but behind and 2 curves later the beautiful Bimota flies into the corner because of cold tyres.

Relatively at the same time appear in the GP circus first tire warmers, which one called however in the paddock rather as "tire griller". At least Sepp Schlögl (friends for many years) approached Klaus, if you could not build something where it does not smell like burnt rubber in the box ...

Handmade in Germany

The picture shows a small batch of Formula 1 electric blankets ready for delivery.

The breakthrough...

Two good reasons for the engineer to come up with something sensible and so, after some development time, a patent application was filed for a carbon fibre heating fabric for racing tyres that is still unique today. Initially, the entire production process took place in his own converted hobby cellar.

As early as 1990, the entire world elite in the 125cc-500cc classes relied on heating technology from KLS. Among them were legends like Schwantz, Lawson, Rainey, Gardner, Kocinski, Mamola and Doohan. In the years that followed, countless motorbike world champions were equipped with KLS products.

The first successes in motor racing were achieved with ABT-Audi as early as the end of the 1990s.

The offspring...

In 2000, son Tobias completed his studies in automotive engineering and decided to join KLS. He took over the entire production area and rented larger commercial premises for this purpose.

The steadily growing success (DTM, Formula 1, motoGP, etc.) of KLS made it too small again after just under 3 years, so that they had to expand again significantly close to home.

Within a few years, half the Formula 1 field was equipped with tyre and rim heating technology.

In 2010, family, friends and the company were hit by a heavy loss: Klaus Leonhardt passed away on 7 May 2010 after a long illness. His son Tobias succeeded him and is now in charge of the KLS company. 10 years of intensive apprenticeship with his father and "boss" ensure the successful continuation of the company.


Also in this turbulent year, new and somewhat larger operating rooms are moved into Baierbrunn.

Since 2015, the DTM has relied exclusively on products (tyre warmers and control units) from KLS. After 20 out of 22 drivers had used KLS tyre warmers before anyway, the step to becoming the sole supplier was no longer a big one. More than 800 KLS heated blankets are in use here.

In 2003, the first Formula 1 team relied on our heating technology; as of 2019, there are 7 teams. Approximately 1,100 (!) electric blankets and a little less than 300 control computers are in continuous successful use here.

en_GBEN

KLS Social Media
logo--kls--gradient-1
High Performance
Heating Solutions
Telefon
+49 (0) 89 379 523 06
E-Mail
info@kls.de

KLS
Die Firma

Vom Hobbyraum zum Global Player…

Wir schreiben das Jahr 1988, der spätere Firmengründer Klaus Leonhardt rollt mit seiner legendären Bimota YB4 aus der Boxengasse der Rennstrecke in Misano. Just in diesem Moment fegt ein anderer Bimotafahrer über Start und Ziel, mit dem er das ganze Wochenende schon ein paar Runden drehen wollte.
Also nichts wie hinterher und 2 Kurven später fliegt die schöne Bimota auch schon ins Eck wegen kalter Reifen.

Relativ zeitgleich tauchen im GP Zirkus erste Reifenwärmer auf, welche man im Fahrerlager allerdings eher als “Reifengriller” bezeichnet hat. Zumindest trat Sepp Schlögl (seit vielen Jahrzehnten befreundet) an Klaus heran, ob man da nicht was bauen könnte wo es nicht nach verbranntem Gummi in der Box stinkt…

Handmade in Germany

Im Bild eine kleine Charge Formel 1 Heizdecken fertig zur Auslieferung

Der Durchbruch…

Zwei gute Gründe also für den Dipl.Ing. sich was vernünftiges einfallen zu lassen und so kam es nach einiger Entwicklungszeit zur Patentanmeldung eines bis heute einzigartigen Kohlefaser Heizgewebes für Rennreifen. Die gesamte Produktion fand zunächst im hauseigenen umfunktionierten Hobbykeller statt.

Bereits ab 1990 vertraute die gesamte Weltelite der Klassen 125cc-500cc auf Heiztechnik aus dem Hause KLS. Darunter Legenden wie Schwantz, Lawson, Rainey, Gardner, Kocinski, Mamola und Doohan. In den Folgejahren waren unzählige Motorrad Weltmeister mit KLS Produkten ausgestattet.

Mit ABT-Audi konnten bereits Ende der 90er Jahren erste Erfolge auch im Autorennsport errungen werden.

Der Nachwuchs…

Im Jahr 2000 hat Sohn Tobias sein Fahrzeugtechnik Studium beendet und entschloss sich zum Einstieg bei KLS. Er übernahm den gesamten Bereich Fertigung und mietete zu diesem Zweck größere Gewerberäume an.

Der stetig wachsende Erfolg (DTM, Formel1, motoGP etc.) von KLS ließ selbige nach nur knapp 3 Jahren bereits wieder zu klein werden, so daß man sich ortsnah nochmal deutlich vergrößern musste.

Binnen weniger Jahre rüstete man bereits das halbe Formel-1 Feld mit Reifen- und Felgenheiztechnik aus.

Im Jahr 2010 traf dann ein schwerer Verlust Familie, Freunde und Firma: Klaus Leonhardt verstirbt am 07.05.2010 nach längerer Krankheit. Sohn Tobias tritt seine Nachfolge an und leitet von nun an die Geschicke der Firma KLS. 10 Jahre intensive Lehrzeit beim Vater und “Chef” stellen eine erfolgreiche Weiterführung des Betriebes sicher.


Ebenfalls in diesem turbulenten Jahr werden nochmals neue und etwas größere Betriebsräume in Baierbrunn bezogen.

Seit 2015 vertraut die DTM exklusiv auf Produkte (Reifenwärmer und Steuergeräte) aus dem Hause KLS. Nachdem zuvor ohnehin schon 20 von 22 Fahrern KLS Reifenwärmer verwendet haben, war der Schritt zum Alleinausrüster nicht mehr groß. Über 800 KLS Heizdecken sind hier im Einsatz.

2003 hat das erste Formel 1 Team auf unsere Heiztechnik vertraut, Stand 2019 sind es deren 7 Teams. Ungefähr 1.100 (!) Heizdecken und etwas weniger als 300 Steuercomputer sind hier im erfolgreichen Dauereinsatz.

de_DEDE